The Alchemist’s Oven – video.

IMG_3946

Videoen findes nederst. Der er med vijle ingen musik lagt over. / The video is found below. It’s on purpose that there’s no musical overlay.

Den første gang jeg hørte om alkymi var i gymnasiet, hvor der hang et kunstværk på én af gangene nær kemilokalerne, der talte om processen.
Det var omkring samme tid at jeg i en spansk lektion hørte om Vejen til Santiago, den gamle pilgrimsvej, som jeg mange år senere gik.
På denne vej mødte jeg – tro det eller ej – en Alkymist (man kan, viste min svigermor mig for et år eller to siden, faktisk se ham i “Bertelsen på Caminoen”, afsnit 15-16, om det har nogen interesse).

De seneste par aftner har jeg sat mig foran brændeovnen og set ind i flammerne. Det er en øvelse i nærvær; en øvelse i at “brænde urenhederne væk”, som alkymisternes proces med at forvandle bly til guld taler om.

The first time I learnt of alchemy was in high school. There was an artwork in one of the hallways, close to the chemistry labs, that spoke of the process. It was about the same time, in a Spanish lesson, that I learnt of the Camino de Santiago, the old pilgrimage route that I ended up walking many years later.
On this path I met – believe it or not – an Alchemist. (My mother-in-law later showed me that you can actually see him in the Danish documentary “Bertelsen på Caminoen”. Episode 15-16.) 

The previous couple of evenings I’ve sat down in front of the fireplace and looked into the flames. It’s an exercise in presence; an exercise in “burning away the impurities”, as the alchemists’ process of turning led into gold speaks of. 

Leave a Reply

