Om at være kunstner. / On being an artist.

IMG_4048

Det er en rigtig, ruskende efterårsdag her i Stockholm med grå himmel og en kølig vind, der løber langs gaden. Jeg sidder med en kop te og overvejer hvad dagen i dag skal gå med. Som jeg åbner min email finder jeg et “like” på et af mine tidligere blogindlæg – jeg klikker mig ind på “likerens” side og finder en ligesindet. En med-kunstner, i Kunwoo Kimm .

Jeg læser noget på hans side, som fører tankerne hen på et emne jeg selv har tænkt en  del på på det seneste. Nemlig, dét at vaere kunstner og at rent faktisk kalde sig for kunstner.

Ofte synes jeg at ordet kunstner bærer konnotationer til en kulturel elite, og en forestilling om at kunst er et intellektets  erhverv, en egoets legeplads.
For mig, er  kunst for alle – fordi kunst er en skabelsens akt. Og  kunsten handler om bevægelse, om at bevæge universet, ideerne og sig selv. Og siden vi alle er børn af Skabelsen, er vi også skabere i os selv. Kunst kan have mange former.
Al kunst har værdi, hvilket ikke er det sammen som økonomisk værdi.
Som Arthur Miller sagde: Don’t be seduced into thinking that that which does not make a profit is witout value.

IMG_4061

Today is a real Autumn day here in Stockholm with grey skies and a cool wind running along the street. I’m sitting with a cup of tea, contemplating what today’s tasks are. As I open my email I find  a “like” from Kunwoo Kimm on one of my posts. Out of curiosity I click my way onto his site and find a like-minded soul, a fellow artist.

I read something on his site that reflect thoughts that have appeared within me recently. About being an artist and calling yourself an artist.

I often feel like the word “artist” is connotated with a cultural elite and an idea that art is an intellectual venture, a playground for the ego.
For me, however, art is for everyone – becuase art is the act of creation.
And art is about movement, moving the Universe, the ideas and oneself. And since we are all children of Creation, we are creators ourselves. Art can have many forms.
All art has value, I think, which is not neccessarily the same as economic value.

As Arthur Miller said: Don’t be seduced into thinking that that which does not make a profit is witout value.

 

One thought on “Om at være kunstner. / On being an artist.

  1. Pingback: En opsamling af indlæg. / A compilation of posts. | Charlotte Luxhoej.com

Leave a Reply

