At skrive: at blotlægge begravede skatte./ Writing: to uncover hidden treasures. 

  
Jeg elsker den måde Stephen King beskriver den kreative proces (især skriveprocessen) på. Ikke mindst idet det stemmer overens med min egen erfaring. 

Tænkte at jeg ville dele den beskrivelse i dag. 

I love how Stephen King describes the creative process, especially that of writing, and thought I’d share his words today:

“When, during the course of an interview for The New Yorker, I told the interviewer (Mark Singer) that I believed stories are found things, like fossils in the ground, he said he didn’t believe me. I replied that that was fine as long as he believed that I believe it. And I do. Stories aren’t souvenir tee-shirts or GameBoys. Stories are relics, part of an undiscovered, pre-existing world. The writer’s job is to use the tools in his or her toolbox to get as much of each one  out of the ground intact as possible. Sometimes the fossil you uncover is small; a seashell. Sometimes it’s enormous, a Tyrannosaurus Rex…”

– Stephen King, “On Writing”.

Leave a Reply

